Award Winner 2009

Award of honor 2009 goes to Jan Christian Opsahl

Jan Chr.Opsahl Ærespris 2009

Vebjørn Tandberg Electronics Award jury decided this year to give recognition to a person who has meant a lot to Norwegian electronics industry .

The prize of $100.000,-and a diploma goes to Jan Christian Opsahl in person, but he must assign the usage to a freely elected «useful purpose «.

The rationale of the jury reads as follows :

The winner of Vebjørn Tandberg Honorary Award has been instrumental for an entire electronics industry in Norway . In the period from 1985 through his vision , strategy and leadership developed three Norwegian company which has been a global leader in their market areas.
It was an intense and powerful races to Tomra lying with a broken back in 1985 back to healthy growth and long term profitability. Now Tomra is world leader in handling the return of beverage containers . Today’s honorary prize winner was linked to Tomra more than 20 years as CEO and chairman .

When Tharald Brøvig winner revitalized TANDBERG 1988 with activities in video conferencing and compression of television pictures , no one thought that BOTH divisions would one day become world leaders in their fields. In 1997 the two companies separated TANDBERG and TANDBERG Television . Through a combination of a focused business strategy , grueling profitability management , rapid growth and strategically important acquisitions , both companies have set international footprint that is deep . TANDBERG Television was sold in 2007 to Ericsson .

Today there are only TANDBERG is pleased honorary award winner’s services as Chairman . And it is impressive to see the zeal , clairvoyance and boldness he contributes to a large degree in this company .
We know that these three companies’ success has been a great inspiration and business pleasure for many other electronics companies in Norway .



Kommentarer er stengt.